This is the login panel

322683 - Transport Capital Partners, LLC. Campaign

TCA Newsroom

TCA Announces Top Six Finalists in 2008 Driver of the Year Contests

Grand prize winners for Company Equipment Driver and TCA Owner Operator of the Year to be announced during TCA’s Annual Convention

Alexandria, Virginia:

The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) has finished judging the applications for its prestigious Driver of the Year contests and is pleased to announce the names of the 2008 finalists.One of three driver finalists in each contest—the Company Equipment Driver of the Year contest (co-sponsored by TCA and Truckers News) and the TCA Owner Operator of the Year contest (co-sponsored by TCA, International Truck and Engine, and Overdrive)—will be awarded the Grand Prize during TCA’s Annual Convention, March 8-11, 2009, at the Gaylord Palms Resort in Orlando, Florida.

The overall goal of both contests is to recognize and pay tribute to the outstanding company equipment and owner operator truck drivers who provide reliable and safe truck transportation in moving the nation's goods.The finalists and subsequent grand prize winners will be recognized and honored based on their performance record, ability to operate in a safe manner on the public highways, efforts to enhance the public image of the trucking industry, and positive contributions to the community in which they live.

To be eligible for the contests, driver applicants had to meet certain minimum criteria, including having driven one million consecutive, accident-free miles and being employed by or leased to a TCA-member trucking company.Trucking companies were limited to nominating only five drivers for each contest.

Each of the three driver finalists for each contest was judged on his final application form, which includes operating information, verification of work history, safety record, equipment specifications (pertains to the Owner Operator contest only), a 300-word essay explaining why the entrant should be a candidate for the grand prize, and a 300-word essay explaining how the entrant is a good "Trucking Citizen.

The grand prize winner of the Company Equipment Driver of the Year contest will receive a Cummins engine-powered Dodge Ram pick-up truck. The TCA Owner Operator of the Year grand prize winner will receive a new International LoneStar tractor (prize includes payment of the Federal excise tax), with a Cummins ISX-550 HP engine, an Eaton transmission, and Goodyear G300 series Fuel Max tires.

The second and third place winners in each contest will also receive a variety of spectacular prizes.

The following drivers are finalists in the two contests:

 Company Equipment Driver of the Year Contest Finalists
(listed in alphabetical order)

 Ralph Boles
Bison Transport, Inc.
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Mr. Boles has driven more than 4.5 million accident-free truckload miles over the past 34 years.His awards include seven safe driving awards and two Driver of the Month awards from the Manitoba Trucking Association.He sits on his company’s Driver Advisory Board and the Accident Review Committee and has just become an in-cab instructor for Bison’s new driver training program. 

Robert Harmeyer
Batesville Casket Company
Batesville, Indiana

Mr. Harmeyer has driven more than 2.4 million accident-free truckload miles since 1988.He has received an Indiana Motor Truck Association Driver of the Month award and participates in the Indiana State Truck Driving Championships and the Trucker Buddy program. 

James Loveland
WSE Transportation, LLC
Elm Springs, Arkansas 

Mr. Loveland has driven 1.6 million accident-free truckload miles over the past decade.His awards include a 10-year safe driving award, his company’s Driver of the Year award, and membership in the 1.5 Million Mile Club.He has been active in helping with Hurricane Katrina FEMA support in 2005 as well as FEMA pet recovery for Hurricane Gustav in 2008. 

TCA Owner Operator Driver of the Year Contest Finalists
(listed in alphabetical order)

 Gerald Clouse
Dart Transit Company
Eagan, Minnesota

Mr. Clouse has driven 3.4 million accident-free truckload miles and has been leased to Dart Transit Co. for the past 22 years.He has received the National Safety Council’s Three Million Mile Safety Award and Dart Transit’s 20-Year Truck Trophy Safety Award.In addition, he has been named a Dart Contractor of the Month and has received Dart’s President’s Safety Award and Hall of Fame Safety Award. 

Clark Lett
Dart Transit Company
Eagan, Minnesota

Mr. Lett has driven 3+ million accident-free truckload miles over the past decade.His awards include 17 consecutive safety awards from Dart Transit, as well as 18 consecutive safety awards from his previous trucking company.When not on the road, he is actively involved in youth baseball and basketball teams, serves as a deacon, choir member and trustee of his church, and is also a Master Mason Pilgrim. 

Wayne Lowe
FFE Transportation Services, Inc.
Lancaster, Texas 

Mr. Lowe has driven 4.5 million accident-free truckload miles and has been associated with FFE since 1967.He was selected as the 2007 Texas Motor Transportation Association Driver of the Year and has received many awards from FFE Transportation Services, including a 4 Million Mile Safe Driving Award and first place in the company’s Truck Rodeo.