This is the login panel

322683 - Transport Capital Partners, LLC. Campaign

TCA Newsroom

TCA Announces Top Three Finalists in Driver of the Year Contests
Alexandria, Virginia:

The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) is pleased to announce the finalists’ names for its prestigious 2009 Company Equipment Driver of the Year contest, co-sponsored by TCA and Truckers News, and the Owner Operator Driver of the Year contest, co-sponsored by TCA and Overdrive magazine. Competing for the Owner Operator contest will be Steven Recker of Warren Transport, Inc., Larry Severson of Dart Transit Co., and Woodrow Walker, also of Dart Transit Co. For the Company Equipment contest, the contenders will be Gordon Colvin of Con-way Truckload, Richard Gassman of Greatwide Dedicated Transport, and Brian Rhodes of Con-way Truckload.

The rankings of which finalists will receive the Grand Prize, second place and third place for each contest will be announced at TCA’s Annual Convention, to be held February 28-March 3, 2010, at the Wynn Las Vegas in Nevada.

The overall goal of TCA’s Driver of the Year contests is to recognize and pay tribute to the outstanding company equipment and owner operator truck drivers who provide reliable and safe truck transportation in moving the nation's goods. The finalists and subsequent grand prize winners will be recognized and honored based on their performance record, ability to operate in a safe manner on the public highways, efforts to enhance the public image of the trucking industry, and positive contributions to the community in which they live.

To be eligible for the contests, driver applicants initially had to meet certain minimum criteria, including having driven one million consecutive, accident-free miles and being employed by or leased to a TCA-member trucking company for at least the last three years. Trucking companies were limited to nominating only five drivers for each contest.

Drivers who met these eligibility requirements were then invited to complete a more extensive final application form. This included operating information, verification of work history, safety record, equipment specifications (pertinent to the Owner Operator contest only), a 300-word essay explaining why the entrant should be a candidate for the grand prize, and a 300-word essay explaining how the entrant is a good "trucking citizen."

If you would like to contribute a prize for the Driver of the Year contest, contact Deborah Sparks at or (703) 838-1950.