This is the login panel

322683 - Transport Capital Partners, LLC. Campaign

TCA Newsroom

TCA Elects John Kaburick, President of Earl L. Henderson Trucking Company, as 2010-11 Chairman

During his tenure, incoming chair hopes to guide TCA membership through rough economic waters and contentious industry issues

Las Vegas, Nevada:

Photo:  John KaburickJohn Kaburick, president of Earl L. Henderson Trucking Company, Salem, Illinois, has been elected as the 2010-2011 chairman of the Truckload Carriers Association (TCA). The swearing-in ceremony took place on Wednesday, March 3, during the association's Annual Convention at the Wynn Las Vegas in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Kaburick’s career in the motor carrier industry began in 1973 when he was an owner operator with just one truck. Two years later, he and a partner launched a small trucking company that quickly grew into a 30-truck fleet. In 1977, Kaburick left the company to work as a salesman for a local truck dealership. This position helped him build an extensive network of friends and contacts until 1990, when one of his long-time customers made him an offer he could not refuse—ownership of Earl L. Henderson Trucking. Since then, under Kaburick’s leadership, the company has grown from 125 tractors and 145 temperature-controlled trailers to more than 400 tractors and nearly 600 dry van and reefer trailers.

After acquiring Henderson, which was already a TCA member, Kaburick became active in the association. The list of committees, management panels, and task forces he has served on over the years is quite extensive, including terms on the ATA Affiliation Task Force, Benchmarking Management Panel, Carrier/Shipper Relations Committee, Committee on Operating Practices, Highway Policy Committee, "Just in Time" (Improving Efficiency on the Docks) Management Panel, Membership Committee, Regulatory Policy Committee, and TCA Communications & Image Policy Committee.

From 2003-2007, Kaburick moved up the ranks as secretary/treasurer, vice chairman, chairman, and then immediate past chairman of TCA’s Refrigerated Division. He has served on the Board of Directors since 1999 and has been a member of the Executive Committee since 2005. His officer positions have included at-large officer (2005-07), secretary (2007-08), second vice chairman (2008-09), first vice chairman (2009-10), and now chairman. Also, since last year, Kaburick has been serving as chairman of the TC-01 Benchmarking program.

While Kaburick’s role in TCA has grown steadily over the years, he has also been actively involved in the American Trucking Associations (ATA) and the Illinois Transportation Association.

During his year as chairman, Kaburick hopes TCA members and staff can focus on certain legislative issues that have been surrounding the trucking industry for some time. He cites the potential Electronic Onboard Recorder mandate, CSA 2010, and sleeper berth regulations as areas that need to be closely monitored for their possible effect on truckload carriers. He also recognizes that current economic conditions are still unstable, making it more and more difficult for carriers to stay afloat.

"So my goals, really, are working with the membership and doing everything we can as an association to bring balance to the issues with which we are confronted," he said.

Kaburick, who is known for his straightforward leadership style, is a strong proponent of TCA’s Benchmarking program, which provides carriers with a results-oriented forum for sharing practices and processes that may help to reduce costs and improve efficiencies. He also sees much value in the educational and networking opportunities available to TCA members and plans to promote these to current and prospective members as much as possible.

"Basically, I will work as hard as I can to act with other officers and do what it takes to move TCA forward, while remaining a very well-respected association in the trucking industry," he said.

The following individuals have been elected to assist Kaburick and will serve as officers until the next Annual Convention:

First Vice Chairman: Gary Salisbury, president & CEO, Fikes Truck Line, Inc., Hope, Arkansas

Second Vice Chairman: Robert E. Low, president & founder, Prime, Inc., Springfield, Missouri

Treasurer: Tom Kretsinger, Jr., president & COO, American Central Transport, Inc., Liberty, Missouri

Secretary: Keith Tuttle, president, Motor Carrier Service, Inc., Northwood, Ohio

Assn. VP to ATA: Lance Craig, CEO & president, Craig Transportation Co., Perrysburg, Ohio

Immediate Past Chairman: Kevin Burch, president, Jet Express, Inc., Dayton, Ohio

At-Large Officer: Shepard Dunn, president & CEO, Bestway Express, Inc., Vincennes, Indiana

At-Large Officer: Don Hayden, president, M & M Cartage Company, Inc., Louisville, Kentucky

At-Large Officer: Russell Stubbs, president, FFE Transportation Services, Inc., Dallas, Texas

At-Large Officer: Tom Witt, president, Roehl flatbed and specialized, Roehl Transport, Marshfield, Wisconsin