This is the login panel

322683 - Transport Capital Partners, LLC. Campaign

TCA Newsroom

Truckload Carriers Association Honors Members for Longevity and Loyalty to Association

During Annual Convention, 19 companies were honored for reaching milestones of membership, while nine individuals were recognized for their help in recruiting new members for TCA.

 Las Vegas, Nevada:

As part of the festivities held during the Truckload Carriers Association’s (TCA) Annual Convention at the Wynn Las Vegas, the organization paid tribute to member companies and individual representatives who have contributed to the long-term growth of the association.

At the new member welcome reception held on Saturday, March 2, 2013, Membership Committee co-chairs Aaron Tennant, president and CEO of Tennant Truck Lines, Inc., Orion, Illinois, and Heather DeBaille, marketing manager for CAT Scale Company, Walcott, Iowa, presented the awards. Nineteen companies were recognized for reaching milestones of membership through TCA’s prestigious Ambassador Club this year, and nine individuals were honored for helping to recruit members for the organization last year.

Member companies are inducted into the Ambassador Club after reaching 25 years of membership. After their induction, they are honored every 5 years for their ongoing commitment to TCA and their industry. Special recognition is bestowed when a company reaches the 50- or 75-year mark. This year, Truck One, Inc., of Newark, Ohio, reached an impressive 65 years of membership, while 7 companies were inducted for reaching the 25-year mark.

Employees of any TCA member company who recruit new members for TCA are designated “Rigsters” and thanked at the reception for their help in growing the association. To recognize their contributions, Rigsters are given a special pin, and the person who recruits the most new members over a one-year period is deemed the “Rigster of the Year.” He/she receives a trophy in addition to the pin. This year’s recipient was Kevin Burch, president of Jet Express, Inc., Dayton, Ohio. He recruited two new members for TCA.

“Our association is fortunate to have such a loyal and committed membership base. The knowledge our Ambassador Club companies have contributed over the years is what has made this association such a valuable asset to the truckload community. And we are also grateful to our Rigsters, who believe so deeply in what we do that they’re willing to take the time to share the rewards with other companies,” said TCA President Chris Burruss. “Without our Ambassadors and Rigsters, we wouldn’t be where we are today.”

Ambassador Club:

With the addition of the seven newest inductees, there are now a total of 88 companies in TCA’s Ambassador Club. The 2013 honorees are as follows:

65 Years

Truck One, Inc., Newark, Ohio
Jay Winegardner, President and CEO
45 Years

Crete Carrier Corporation, Lincoln, Nebraska
Tonn Ostergard, President and CEO
Howell's Motor Freight, Inc., Roanoke, Virginia
Harry Norris, President
35 Years

C.R. England, Inc., Salt Lake City, Utah
Daniel E. England, Chairman

Con-way Truckload, Joplin, Missouri
Herbert J. Schmidt, President and CEO

Heartland Express, North Liberty, Iowa
Michael Gerdin, President
30 Years

CrossGlobe Transport, Ltd., Newport News, Virginia
Bill Franks, President
GE Capital, Transportation Finance, Irving, Texas
John Conkin, Vice President
HireRight, Inc., Tulsa, Oklahoma
Justin Reed, Industry Relations
May Trucking Co., Salem, Oregon
C. Marvin May, CEO
Prime Inc., Springfield, Missouri
Robert E. Low, Founder and President
Weinrich Truck Line, Inc., Hinton, Iowa
Donna Weinrich-Lucht, President
25 Years

Baylor Trucking, Inc., Milan, Indiana
Robert Baylor, President

Crane Composites, Channahon, Illinois
James Canaday, Vice President, National Accounts Manager
J & M Tank Lines, Inc., Birmingham, Alabama
Harold Sumerford, CEO
Mercer Transportation Co., Inc., Louisville, Kentucky
James Stone, President
TMW Systems, Inc., Cleveland, Ohio
Dave Wangler, President and CEO
Transportation Costing Group, Inc., Rockville, Maryland
Kenneth Manning, President
Wabash National Corporation, Lafayette, Indiana
Richard Giromini, President and CEO 

The 2013 Rigsters are as follows:

  • Kevin Burch, President, Jet Express, Inc., Dayton, Ohio
  • Ray Haight, CEO, Transrep Inc., Caledonia, Ontario
  • Paul Higgins, Director of Fleet Maintenance, Prime Inc., Springfield, Missouri
  • Deanna Klose, former Director of Human Resources, Veriha Trucking, Inc., Marinette, Wisconsin
  • Tom Kretsinger, Jr., President, American Central Transport, Inc., Liberty, Missouri
  • Robert Low, Prime Inc., President & Founder, Springfield Missouri
  • Tom McLeod, President, McLeod Software Corporation, Birmingham, Alabama
  • Amy Mielke, Transportation Sourcing Leader, Owens Corning, Toledo, Ohio
  • Tom Witt, President, Roehl Flatbed & Specialized, Roehl Transport Inc., Marshfield, Wisconsin 

Click here to view a photo of the 2012 Rigster of the Year.