This is the login panel

322683 - Transport Capital Partners, LLC. Campaign

TCA Newsroom

TCA Seeks the Best Men and Women Traveling the Roads Today

Nominations are now open for the Truckload Carriers Association’s 2013 Driver of the Year Competition

Alexandria, Virginia:

If you work with professional truck drivers, it’s likely you’ve come across someone who drives safely, gives to the community, and works hard to enhance the image of the trucking industry. The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) encourages you to nominate such an individual for its 2013 Driver of the Year Competition.

Run jointly by TCA and its partner, Randall-Reilly, the competition consists of two different categories, depending on the type of professional driver being nominated. The Company Driver of the Year contest is now in its 23rd year, and the Owner Operator of the Year contest is in its 25th.

Overdrive [Randall-Reilly’s publication geared toward owner operators] is honored to be able to recognize the outstanding drivers and owner operators who move North America’s freight every day while projecting a professional image for the industry,” said Brad Holthaus, executive associate producer for Randall-Reilly of Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

When nominating professional drivers for either contest, there are several rules that apply to eligibility. All nominees must have driven a minimum of one million consecutive, accident-free miles. Company drivers must be nominated by the motor carrier that employs them. Owner operators may be nominated by a carrier they have been leased to for a period of three or more years, or they can nominate themselves or be nominated by a spouse. Previous grand prizewinners are not eligible to enter either contest again, and other requirements can be found in the official contest rules, available on TCA’s Web site.

In addition to the basics listed above, nominees must provide proof of operating information, work history, and safety record. They are also asked to write a 300-word essay explaining why they are good “trucking citizens” and should be a candidate for the grand prize. For the owner operators, additional documentation is required, such as equipment specifications, business plans, and financial statements.

The competition judges will examine these materials and select the top three finalists for each contest, to be announced in December. From among the finalists, one grand prizewinner will be selected for each contest and will be recognized during the annual awards ceremony at TCA’s Annual Convention, scheduled for March 23-26, 2014, at the Gaylord Texan in Grapevine, Texas.

For more information about TCA’s Driver of the Year competition or to complete an online nomination form, please visit Nominations will be accepted until October 21, 2013, at 5:00 p.m. Eastern time.