This is the login panel

322683 - Transport Capital Partners, LLC. Campaign

TCA Newsroom

Who Will Win Prestigious Title of Driver of the Year?

Truckload Carriers Association and Randall-Reilly reveal 2014 finalists' names

Alexandria, Virginia, and Tuscaloosa, Alabama:

The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA),Overdrive Magazine, and are pleased to reveal the identities of the six finalists for the 2014 Driver of the Year competition. The following three owner operators and company drivers will now compete for the prestigious grand prize in their respective categories:

Owner Operator of the Year contest finalists:

  • Glen Horack of Elkland, Missouri, who is leased to Prime Inc., of Springfield, Missouri
  • Thomas Miller of Bunker Hill, Illinois, who is leased to Prime Inc., of Springfield, Missouri
  • Bryan Smith of Asbury, Iowa, who is leased to Art Pape Transfer, Inc. of Dubuque, Iowa

Company Driver of the Year contest finalists:

  • Danny Smith of Shelbyville, Tennessee, who drives for Big G Express, Inc., also of Shelbyville
  • Johnny Chestnut of Lakeland, Florida, who drives for Saddle Creek Transportation, Inc., also of Lakeland
  • Gary Teel of Whiting, Iowa, who drives for Weinrich Truck Line, Inc.of Hinton, Iowa

“Narrowing the pool of applicants down to just six is always difficult. I wish we could recognize all of the professional drivers who have great safety records and lots of time at the wheel,” said Shepard Dunn, president and CEO of Bestway Express, Inc., of Vincennes, Indiana, and TCA’s chairman. “But these six are great representatives for the many outstanding drivers who are out there.”

TCA’s Driver of the Year competition recognizes and pays tribute to the company and owner operator truck drivers who provide reliable and safe truck transportation in moving the nation's goods. The finalists and subsequent grand prizewinners are selected based on their ability to operate in a safe manner on the public highways, efforts to enhance the public image of the trucking industry, and positive contributions they have made to the communities in which they live.

To be eligible for the contests, driver applicants had to meet certain minimum criteria, such as having driven one million consecutive, accident-free miles. Each drivers’ operating information, work history, and safety record were examined, and each driver was asked to write a 300-word essay explaining why he/she is a good “trucking citizen” and should be a candidate for the grand prize. For the owner operator candidates, equipment specifications, business plans, and financial statements were also reviewed.

"It's an honor to recognize the nation's best owner-operators and drivers in Overdrive and,” said Brad Holthaus, vice president of trucking media sales at Randall-Reilly, based in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. "Trucking has countless operators who exemplify safety, service, and professionalism. The two winners drawn from these finalists will represent the industry well."

The names of the grand prizewinners will be announced at TCA’s Annual Convention, to be held March 8-11, 2015, at the Gaylord Palms in Kissimmee, FL. For further information on the Driver of the Year competition, please visit

Click here to view the Company Driver of the Year finalists.

Click here to view the Owner Operator of the Year finalists.