This is the login panel

1046243 - Weber Gallagher Campaign

National Fleet Safety Awards

Each Fall, TCA members submit online applications for one of trucking's most important competitions—the National Fleet Safety Awards. Carriers placing first, second, and third in each of six mileage-based divisions are honored. The winners are selected based on their accident ratios from October 1 to September 30 in any given year. Division winners are subject to an audit for ratio accuracy and invited to compete for one of two grand prizes. Carriers with annual mileage of 25 million or fewer miles vie for one, while companies with more than 25 million miles compete for the other. The grand prize winners are announced each March at TCA’s Annual Convention.

View 2016 Eligibility & Rules. 

The application period is now closed. 


Logo: Great West Casualty Company“It’s always an honor for Great West Casualty to sponsor TCA’s National Fleet Safety Awards. These awards recognize some of the safest fleets in North America and set admirably high safety standards for the industry.”

- Patrick Kuehl, Executive Vice President

What Our Members Are Saying:

“TCA has been very influential in our business . . .TCA’s National Fleet Safety Awards program has helped fuel our own safety program, motivating our workforce and validating our safety performance among our peers . . . You will be hard pressed to look anywhere in your business and find a better return on investment and time!”

Rob Penner, President and COO, Bison Transport

2015 Winners

TCA Announces the Two Safest Truckload Fleets in North America
FTC Transportation & Bison Transport

Las Vegas, Nevada - March 9, 2016 - The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) wrapped up its Annual Convention at the Wynn Las Vegas Resort by presenting its prestigious National Fleet Safety Awards to the two safest truckload carriers in North America. FTC Transportation, Inc. (FTC), of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, and Bison Transport of Winnipeg, Manitoba, are the 2015 grand-prize winners. The contest is sponsored by Great West Casualty Company.

FTC Transportation, Inc., represented by Travis Arnold, president, won the award for truckload companies in the small carrier division (total annual mileage of less than 25 million miles). Bison Transport, represented by Rob Penner, President and COO, won for truckload companies in the large carrier division (total annual mileage of 25 million or more miles). Both companies will be recognized again during TCA’s Safety & Security Division Annual Meeting, to be held May 22-24, 2016, at the Worthington Renaissance in Fort Worth, Texas.

“Due to the tight competition, it is extremely difficult to earn the grand prize in this contest once—let alone the same two companies two years in a row!,” said John Lyboldt, TCA’s president. “These fleets have well-crafted and carefully implemented safety programs that not only work, but take these companies to a higher level. They absolutely deserve the honor a second time.”

To view photos from the event, click here.

About FTC Transportation, Inc.
FTC has a robust safety program that requires a commitment from everyone in the organization—from drivers, to operations and maintenance, to executive staff. Safety is the core tenant of FTC’s strategic plan as well as each employee’s annual performance profile. Employees are measured across multiple areas, and those who maintain excellent safety “scorecards” may earn a variety of attractive incentives. This year, areas of the company that had not previously included safety were revamped so that even sign-on and driver referral bonuses and the quarterly fuel bonus are now linked to the core component of safety.

The company is constantly seeking new ways to improve and train its people in proper safety procedures. For example, it recently placed one tractor and one trailer out of service, and then loaded them with more than 20 safety defects (commonly overlooked items or problems the company has been cited for in the past). Each driver was required to perform a supervised pre-trip inspection on the equipment and then was evaluated and re-trained on any items missed.

Other ongoing safety activities include two months per year of special activities dedicated to health and safety awareness, mock DOT inspections, an annual employee weight loss challenge, on-the-job surveys or ride-alongs conducted by the director of dispatch services, a new employee assistance program and driver mentoring program, and much more.

According to the company’s grand prize application, “From our strategic plan, to our mission, vision and core values, to our day-to-day operations, everything we do is guided by safety. This mantra is reflected in our results: we have maintained an excellent standing as reported through our CSA Carrier Scorecard, our outstanding loss runs have enabled us to secure excellent insurance for minimal premiums, and most importantly we put our employees’ safety and the safety of the public above all else, enabling them to return home safely to their loved ones.”

About Bison Transport
Bison Transport’s safety program is an amazing blend of safety initiatives, careful attention to detail, and collaboration across all job titles. Like any company, Bison strives to make a profit, yet it puts its safety record at the forefront of everything it does, knowing that safety impacts the sustainability of the company and the livelihoods of people and families.

The company culture revolves around the slogan, “You’re Safe With Me.” The brand is made highly visible through campaigns, signage, and awards, providing necessary and consistent reinforcement to all employees of the value of Bison’s safety culture and the value of their actions. The Safe Driving Reward Program provides substantial financial incentive and aligns with safe driving milestone levels in the corresponding Safe Driver Award Program. A top-level driver will earn up to 15% more under this program. The Safe Driving Reward Program exceeds Bison’s actual accident costs by more than 15%.

Bison believes that investing in health and wellness is an important aspect to having safer drivers. Its “Wellness for the Long Haul” program provides many resources, from truck seats that vibrate less, to on-site fitness equipment and healthy food options, to confidential assistance with personal issues. For a large company, Bison manages to add a personal touch to many of its activities; for instance, the driver development scheduler makes a healthy soup or chili for drivers in her weekly orientation class. (Not only do the drivers get a homemade meal, but they are encouraged to eat healthy while on the road.) During North American Occupational Safety and Health Week, there’s even a “Safety is Sexy Fashion Show” highlighting wearing personal protective equipment.

According to the company’s grand prize application, “[We] link safety into everything we want our business to be. ... As we consider ventures, we do so without sacrificing safety. Investments are made in training, equipment, and expertise to ensure we can meet our goal of being safe. If it can’t be done safely, it isn’t a service that will be part of our portfolio.”

Past Honorees