2018 TCA Safety Professional of the Year Announcement


2018 TCA Safety Professional of the Year – Clare C. Casey Award Presented to Angie Buchanan of Melton Truck Lines

Norfolk, Virginia:

Angie Buchanan, vice president of HR and Safety for Melton Truck Lines, Inc. of Tulsa, Oklahoma, has been presented the Truckload Carriers Association’s (TCA) 2018 Clare C. Casey Safety Professional of the Year Award. This honor is bestowed upon a trucking industry professional whose actions and achievements have made a profound contribution to enhancing safety on North America’s highways. The announcement took place during TCA’s 37th Annual Safety & Security Division Meeting in Norfolk, Virginia.

“In April 2008, Angie became part of the Melton family and assumed the VP of Safety and HR position,” said Mike Natalizio, CEO of HNI Risk Services, in his nomination for Angie. “She is responsible for recruiting, staff and driver training, compliance, and other human resources and safety functions. She also inspires a team of approximately 45 people and is solely responsible for all safety and risk management strategy at Melton.

The intersection of Angie’s HR and Safety responsibilities at a company as large and respected as Melton is unique. Unlike most companies, where the HR and Safety teams often operate independently, Angie has been able to blend the care and compassion of Human Resources with the importance and immense responsibility of a Safety department. And the results have been remarkable.”

Nominees for TCA’s award must exemplify leadership and demonstrate the goals of protecting lives and property in the motor transportation industry while serving their company, industry, and the motoring public. The award is named after Clare Casey, a safety professional who actively served TCA from 1979 until 1989. He was devoted to ensuring that all truckload safety professionals build a strong safety network, and was instrumental in forming the first annual Safety & Security Division meeting in 1982. The first Clare C. Casey Award was presented in 1990, one year after his death.

View photos from the award presentation and other events at TCA’s 37th Annual Safety & Security Division Meeting.