Dave Berry of Swift Transportation Co., Inc. Elected As Truckload Carriers Association Chairman for 2005-2006


Las Vegas, NV:

Dave Berry, vice president of Swift Transportation Co., Inc., Phoenix, Arizona, has been elected as 2005-2006 chairman of the Truckload Carriers Association (TCA). The election took place on Sunday, March 6, at the association’s Annual Meeting, held March 6-9, 2005 at the Bellagio Resort, Las Vegas, Nevada.

Mr. Berry has been active in the trucking industry since 1973 and has been with Swift Transportation Co., Inc. for the past fifteen years. Swift operates the largest fleet of truckload carrier equipment with approximately 18,500 trucks in the United States, Canada and Mexico.

Mr. Berry has served the trucking community in many different capacities. He is a Past Chairman of the Arizona Trucking Association, as well as past Chair of the American Trucking Associations (ATAs) Tax Policy Committee. He currently serves ATA as a member of the environmental, tax policy, and highway policy committees. Mr. Berry’s involvement with TCA includes serving as a Board member for nearly a decade, acting as First Vice Chairman for 2004-2005, and chairing the North American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI).

Mr. Berry is “proud of TCA’s ability to serve as a voice for the truckload segment of the industry.” He expects the year ahead to include many new regulations that will have a significant impact on truckload carriers; for that reason, Berry believes it is important now more than ever that TCA’s voice is heard. His goal as chairman is to insure that TCA is heard loud and clear in response to industry regulations.

The following individuals were also elected and will serve with Mr. Berry until the next Annual Convention:

  • First Vice Chairman: Barry Pottle, president, Pottle’s Transportation, Inc., Bangor, Maine
  • Second Vice Chairman: Jim O’Neal, president, O & S Trucking, Springfield, Missouri
  • Secretary: Kevin Burch, president, Jet Express, Inc., Dayton, Ohio
  • Treasurer: Ray Haight, president & COO, MacKinnon Transport, Inc., Guelph, Ontario, Canada
  • Association Vice Chairman to ATA: Clifton Parker, president, G&P Trucking Co., Inc., Gaston, South Carolina
  • Immediate Past Chairman: Lance Craig, president, Craig Transportation Co., Perrysburg, Ohio

At-Large officers are:

  • Robert Baylor, president, Baylor Trucking, Inc., Milan, Indiana
  • John Kaburick, president, Earl L. Henderson Trucking Company, Salem, Illinois
  • Chris Kozak, president, Willis Shaw Express, Elm Springs, Arknsas
  • Robert Stranzeck, president, Cresco Lines, Inc., Harvey Illinois