TCA, Overdrive Magazine, and Truckers News Announce 2018 Driver of the Year Finalists


Top owner operators and company drivers will now compete for prestigious title; grand prize winners to be announced during TCA’s 81st Annual Convention

Alexandria, Virginia and Tuscaloosa, Alabama:

The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA), and its partners Overdrive Magazine and Truckers News, are pleased to announce the finalists for the 2018 Driver of the Year Contests, recognizing the company and owner operator professional truck drivers who provide reliable transportation of North America’s goods.

The finalists and grand prize winners were selected based on their ability to operate safely on public highways, their efforts to enhance the public image of the trucking industry, and their contributions to the communities in which they live.

Thanks to the generosity of Love’s Travel Stops and Cummins Inc., each grand prize winner will receive $25,000, while the two runners-up in each division will win $2,500.

The following owner operators and company drivers will now compete for the prestigious grand prize in their respective categories:

2018 Company Driver of the Year Contest finalists:

  • Don Lewis of Republic, Missouri, who drives for Wilson Logistics of Springfield, Missouri;
  • David McGowan of Marinette, Wisconsin, who drives for WEL Companies, Inc., of De Pere, Wisconsin; and
  • Ester Nemeth of Winnipeg, Manitoba, who drives for Bison Transport also of Winnipeg, Manitoba

2018 Owner Operator of the Year Contest finalists:

  • Danny Jewell of Nebraska City, Nebraska, who is leased to Warren Transport, Inc. of Waterloo, Iowa;
  • Kevin Kocmich of Litchfield, Minnesota, who is leased to Diamond Transportation System, Inc. of Racine, Wisconsin; and
  • Robert Roth of Coldwater, Ontario, who is leased to Erb International of New Hamburg, Ontario

“Each one of our finalists is exceptional,” said TCA Chairman and Searcy Specialized President Dan Doran. “Regardless of who may take home the grand prize award in March, each driver has made significant contributions to the industry and should be applauded for their efforts as they’re setting the finest example possible.”

“We are happy to partner with TCA and our great sponsors to highlight and reward the best professional truck drivers in the truckload industry,” said Randall-Reilly National Account Executive Lawrence “Chip” Magner. “I look forward to meeting each of these finalists and congratulating them as we reveal the top Drivers of the Year.”

Grand prize winners will be announced at TCA’s 81st Annual Convention at the Wynn Las Vegas Resort on Tuesday, March 12, 2019 during the Annual Awards Banquet. For more information on the Driver of the Year Contests, please visit

For further information on TCA and its activities, please visit and follow the organization on Facebook——and Twitter—