Truckload Carriers Association Announces 2017 Fleet Safety Awards Division Winners


The two overall grand prize winners will be revealed at TCA’s Annual Convention in Kissimmee, Florida

Alexandria, Virginia:

TCA’s 42nd Annual Fleet Safety Awards, sponsored by Great West Casualty Company, honor trucking companies who have demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to safety. The top three winning companies in each of six divisions had the lowest accident frequency ratios per million miles annually.

“TCA is proud to honor the safest fleets in the United States and Canada,” said TCA President John Lyboldt. “The companies spotlighted in this contest have developed innovative programs that not only teach their professional drivers how to remain safe on our highways, but cultivate cultures in which the values of safety course through the entirety of their fleets.”

All division winners are invited to compete for one of two grand prizes – one for carriers with a total annual mileage less than 25 million miles, and the other for carriers with mileage greater than 25 million miles. The two overall grand prize winners will be announced at TCA’s 80th Annual Convention at the Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center in Kissimmee, FL on March 25-27 as well as at TCA’s 2018 Safety & Security Division Meeting at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott in Norfolk, VA on June 10-12.

Here are the 2017 Fleet Safety Awards winners:

Division I Winners
(less than 5 million miles)

1st Place
Stageline Express, Inc.
Coopersville, MI

2nd Place
FTC Transportation, Inc.
Oklahoma City, OK

3rd Place
Art Pape Transfer, Inc.
Dubuque, IA

Division II Winners
(5-14.99 million miles)

1st Place
Boyle Transportation
Billerica, MA

2nd Place
Marvin Keller Trucking
Sullivan, IL

3rd Place
Chief Carriers, Inc.
Grand Island, NE

Division III Winners
(15-24.99 million miles)

1st Place
Kottke Trucking, Inc.
Buffalo Lake, MN

2nd Place
High Country Transportation
Midlothian, TX

3rd Place
Grand Island Express
Grand Island, NE

Division IV Winners
(25-49.99 million miles)

1st Place
Trans-West Logistics
Lachine, QC

2nd Place
Erb International, Inc.
New Hamburg, ON

3rd Place
Nussbaum Transportation Services, Inc.
Hudson, IL

Division V Winners
(50-99.99 million miles)

1st Place
Groupe Robert, Inc.
Rougemont, QC

2nd Place
Halvor Lines, Inc.
Superior, WI

3rd Place
Ashley Furniture Industries, Inc.
Arcadia, WI

Division VI Winners
(100 million or more miles)

1st Place
Bison Transport
Winnipeg, MB

2nd Place
May Trucking Co., Inc.
Salem, OR

3rd Place
John Christner Trucking, Inc.
Sapulpa, OK

For more information about TCA’s Fleet Safety Awards, including eligibility requirements and rules, visit the Fleet Safety Awards page. To view images from the 2016 Fleet Safety Awards presentations, visit TCA’s Flickr.